This page is for Westmill Solar Co-operative's 1,648 members, who all bought shares in the society.  It provides up-to-date information from board meetings and also acts as a library of key documents.


The 2016 AGM took place on Saturday 21st May at Shrivenham Village Hall. This year, for the first time, we held our AGM on the same day as Westmill Wind Co-operative and feedback from members was that this was well received.  

As well as the formal business of the two AGMs, we heard from Dirk Vansintjan, President of the European Federation of Renewable Energy Co-operatives, who leads a renewable energy co-operative which supplies energy to its members in his native Belgium. Hear Dirk's inspirational talk (on vimeo). There was also be the opportunity to meet a range of other ethical organisations who work with Westmill Solar and Westmill Wind - and even a couple of local owners of electric cars.

On the day we took the opportunity to create this short three minute video (on vimeo) to capture what it means to be part of a community energy co-operative. Please share widely to spread the news of how co-operatives make change happen.

Official papers and minutes:


Board meetings

Minutes from the most recent board meetings are available here:

Governance and share offer documents

The co-operative is governed in a very democratic way with each member having one vote, irrespective of the size of their shareholding.  The majority of shareholders have invested between £250 and £20,000 for A-shares under the public share offer.  Around 80 people have invested between £10,000 and £75,000 under a private placement of B-shares which was only available to 'sophisticated investors' as defined in law. The B-shares are identical to the public offer A-shares in all respects, except that they are not withdrawable (as further described in Section 17 of the rules). 

For a full set of the rules, see here
For the original share offer document see here

Past AGMs and Annual Reports

Peter Harper's inspirational speech at the Westmill Solar 2013 AGM.